AGM minutes 2005

Minutes of Telepost Chess Club Annual General Meeting
Held at Telepost Club on Tuesday 6th Sept 2005

Keith Tabner (Secretary), John Liddell (Treaurer), John Casewell, John Westhead, John Bashall, Peter Crean, Bob Simpson, David Adderley, Steve Jones, Steve Kempsall, Jamie Hopkins, Joe Adderley. 
Neil Allen
The meeting began with one minute’s silence in memory of A team captain Neil Allen. 
Review of Last Season
A Team – Regained the league championship from close rivals Shrewsbury A, thus making five titles in the past six years. Will play in the Cox trophy final next week against Newport.
B Team – Under captain John Liddell acquitted themselves well in top flight and were only relegated on goal difference. Bob Simpson was in good form.
C Team – An impressive season saw the team promoted to Div 1 as runners up to Ludlow, despite having been forced to concede the crucial match against Ludlow. Followed this up by winning the Minor Knockout trophy – the first ever Telepost win in this competition.
D Team – Despite a difficult season in Div 3 with key players often unavailable, the team managed to give several new players valuable experience of league chess.
John Bashall won the Wrekin Congress Major 4.5 / 5 ahead of Keith Tabner 4 / 5 and improved his grade to 160.
Richard Bryant won the Heyswood Major 5/5 and scored an impressive 4/5 in the strong Manchester Open.
John Westhead captained the county U125 team to the national semi finals.
John Casewell again combined the roles of League Controller, Darwin Organiser, and D Team captain.
Trophy Presentations 
The division 1 championship trophy, having been completely refurbished, cleaned, and restored to pristine condition by Steve Jones, was presented to John Bashall on behalf of Telepost A. Individual trophies were awarded to team members Nigel Ferrington, Richard Bryant, John Bashall, Keith Tabner, and in lieu to captain Neil Allen.
Individual Minor Knockout Trophies were presented to Dave Bates, Steve Kempsall, John Westhead, Dave Adderley, and Vinny Crean.
The secretary extended a warm welcome to Jamie Hopkins and hoped to see further new members in the near future. However the club have lost several key players including TK Kam, Vinny Crean, and Robert Seeney, as well Neil Allen. The meeting reluctantly agreed to drop the D Team this year. Thus A and B teams will play in Division 1 with the C team in Division 2. For the first time for some years there will be no Telepost team in Division 3.
The secretary’s proposed team structure was accepted. (see list of members / teams)
Officers / Captains 
Secretary – Keith Tabner – Treasurer – John Liddell
A Team Captain – Richard Bryant, (Vice Captain John Bashall)
B Team Captain – Peter Crean, (Vice Captain Bob Simpson)
C Team Captain – Steve Jones (Vice Captain John Liddell)
Club Championship Organiser – John Liddell
Treasurer’s Report 
Chess Membership Fee – £10-00pa for all senior members – to be collected by team captains in October. (All members must of course also join Telepost Club – currently £15-00 pa). League fees are £45 per team payable in November. Junior membership will be free. 
Club Championship
The meeting voted to defer arranging a formal club championship. In the absence of a D team, an emphasis will be placed on social chess and organising ad hoc competitions, fun chess, coaching, and friendly matches. 
Neil Allen Trophy 
The meeting agreed to John Westhead’s proposal that the club should offer to fund a new division 3 trophy – the Neil Allen Trophy – to be paid for by individual donations from members. The secretary was instructed to take this proposal to the SCA Council Meeting next week. 
Darwin Festival
Organiser John Casewell asked for club members to support this year’s festival which will include:-17/09/05 Individual Lightening Tournament24/09/05 Team competition and Junior Showcase 
Pre Season Friendly
Provisional date 27/09/05 for annual friendly v Shrewsbury – to be confirmed. 
League AGM
FIDE have introduced a new rule – players may no longer write down a move before it is played. 
The club now has its own website – In addition several club members are involved in the Shropshire website . Webmaster Vinny Crean is taking a year out in New Zealand . Site editor Keith Tabner is looking for new contributors in addition to club members John Casewell and John Westhead. The major contribution by Telepost members helps keep the club at the forefront of Shropshire chess. 
Any Other Business 
Club Dates
13/09/05 Cox Trophy Final Telepost A v Newport
14/09/05 SCA Council Meeting
20/09/05 Ladies Darts night
27/09/05 Pre Season Friendly v Shrewsbury
04/10/05 Season Begins Telepost A v B.
We will be hosting Division 3 fixtures between Ludlow B and Market Drayton 

Keith Tabner Secretary

Scroll to Top