Controller – Paul Billington

Congratulations to last season’s winners:

2022-23 Champion – Nigel Ferrington
2022-23 U1700 Champion – John Westhead
2022-23 U1400 Champion – Alex Brims


The 2023-24 Championship is five rounds, November 2023 – April 2024, one game each month, for the titles of Club Champion, U1700 Champion and U1400 champion. The rounds are drawn by Swiss pairing, using Oct 23 ratings. Normal Shropshire Chess League rules apply. The timing is 1 hour 25 minutes, with 10 second increments. One point for a win, half for a draw. In the event of a tie at the end of round five, a tie break round will be played. Games will be ECF rated. White has the responsibility of arranging the match in each round. Matches must be played by the end of each month unless special arrangements are made with the controller. Please let Paul know the result of your game.


Last update: 20 February

Nathanael Paul2140330003
Nigel Ferrington2122330003
Steve Kempsell 1698320102.5
Rudi Bedford1288320102.5
Matthew Clark1814321002
Fred Bench1724321002
John Westhead1624321002
Cesar Pileggi1532321002
Shane Greenwood1651311101.5
Rhys Macmillan1296 (P)311101.5
Ellis SharpUG301111.5
John Bashall1729211001
Keith Tabner1639211001
Nick Holmes1506211001
Noah Sharp1201 (P)312001
Henry Bedford945302011
Paula SharpUG312001
Steve Wilson1436201100.5
Charlie Bethune1436303000
John Casewell (online)1303300300
Martin Ayres1247202000
Archie Flavell – withdrawn 1600 (P)211001

Note – in accordance with Shropsire Chess League rules, John Casewell may play all his games online


Round Three – matches to be played by February 29

WNat Paul1-0Matthew Clark
WNigel Ferrington1-0Fred Bench
WSteve Kempsell1-0Shane Greenwood
WRudi Bedford1-0Ellis Sharp
WKeith Tabner0-0Nick Holmes
WPaula Sharp0-1John Westhead
WJohn Bashall0-1Cesar Pileggi
WJohn Casewell0-1Rhys Macmillan
WSteve Wilson0-0Martin Ayres
WNoah Sharp1-0Charlie Bethune
WHenry Bedford1Bye

Round Two – matches to be played by January 31

WJohn Westhead0-1Nat Paul
WNigel Ferrington1-0Keith Tabner
WMatthew Clark1-defaultArchie Flavell
WFred Bench1-0Paula Sharp
WEllis Sharp0.5-0.5Steve Kempsell
WShane Greenwood1-0John Casewell
WCharlie Bethune0-1Rudi Bedford
WCesar Pileggi1-0Noah Sharp
WRhys Macmillan0.5-0.5Steve Wilson
WNick Holmes1-0Henry Bedford
WMartin Ayres0-1John Bashall

Round One – matches to be played by Nov 30

WNat Paul1-0Nick Holmes
WSteve Wilson0-1Nigel Ferrington
WMatthew Clark1-0Charlie Bethune
WJohn Casewell0-1Fred Bench
WSteve Kempsell1-0Rhys Macmillan
WRudi Bedford0.5-0.5Shane Greenwood
WKeith Tabner1-0Martin Ayres
WHenry Bedford0-1John Westhead
WArchie Flavell1-0Noah Sharp
WPaula Sharp1-0Cesar Pileggi
WBye0-1Ellis Sharp
Scroll to Top