AGM minutes 2008

Minutes of Telepost Chess Club Annual General Meeting 
Held at Telepost Club on Tuesday 2nd September 2008

Keith Tabner (Secretary), John Westhead (Treaurer), John Casewell, John Bashall, Brian Holford, Adrian Bowyer, Shane Sweeney, David Bates, Richard Bryant, Vincent Crean, Jamie Hopkins, Charles Micallef. 
Apologies – Peter Crean 

Review of Last Season 

Last season was highly successful for Telepost. 
Captain Richard Bryant lead the A team by example to the Division 1 championship by the narrowest of margins over nearest rivals Church Stretton. With strong support from several B team players the team went on to complete a league and cup double for only the second time in the club’s history. 

Peter Crean captained the B team to the Division 2 title and promotion to the top flight. 

Meanwhile the C team under Captain Adrian Bowyer completed all fixtures in Division 3 giving valuable experience to some new members ably supported by some more experienced players. 

There were some notable individual performances by club members during the year. Jamie Hopkins shared the 2008 County Individual Championship, and both Richard Bryant and John Bashall enjoyed successes in weekend tournaments nationwide. 

In supporting the Shropshire Chess website, Vinny Crean and Keith Tabner made a significant contribution to the organisation of chess in the county. 

Special thanks are due to Shane Sweeney, Adrian Bowyer, and Brian Holford for keeping the club active throughout the summer. 

It was with great sadness that we heard of the loss of Joe Adderley – he will be missed. 

2008-09 Teams 

The club this year will have two teams in Division 1 and a C team in Division 3. After some discussion a team structure was accepted. (see list of members / teams) 

Election of Officers / Captains 

Secretary – Keith Tabner 
Treasurer – John Westhead 
A Team Captain – Richard Bryant, Vice Captain Keith Tabner 
B Team Captain – Peter Crean, Vice Captain John Bashall
C Team Captain – John Casewell, Vice Captain – Adrian Bowyer 

Treasurer’s Report 

John Westhead detailed the clubs finances. The current balance stands at £91-63. 

League fees will be £50-00 per team. Following the club’s success John Bashall had procurred trophies at a cost of £65.16. 

After much discussion the meeting agreed JH’s proposal that trophy winners would contribute £3-00 each towards their cost. Chess club membership will increase from £10 to £12-00 pa. – to be paid to the Treasurer as soon as possible. (All members must of course also join Telepost Club – currently £15-00 pa). League fees are payable at end November. 

DB explained a fund raising scheme via scratch cards which will net £120-00 pa. After discussion this was not adopted but will be reviewed in future. 

Dates for the Diary at Telepost Club 

Wednesday 3 rd September SCA EGM at Telepost Club 
Tuesday 30th September – Pre-Season Friendly vs Shrewsbury – provisional to be confirmed. Cancelled 
1st October Winter Chess Season Begins ? to be confirmed 
brought forward to 16th September 

Any Other Business 


After some discussion members were encouraged to attend this meeting to vote on agenda items of great significance to Shropshire chess (ie the “Vinny Crean situation” re estimated grades, and the proposed penalties for teams not providing officials for the SCA.) 

New Grades 

JB provided list of new grades to be introduced next season. 

Trophy presentation 

The meeting concluded with the presentation of the Division 1 and the Division 2 Championship Trophies, The Cox Trophy Shield, and the 15 individual shields for the successful team members. 

Congratulations to all on a memorable season and here’s looking forward to the next. Keith Tabner – Secretary

Scroll to Top