AGM minutes 2012

Minutes of Telepost Chess Club Annual General Meeting

Held at Telepost Club on Tuesday 21st August 2012Present:-  Keith Tabner (Secretary), John Westhead (Treasurer) John Casewell, Peter Crean, Shane Sweeney, Charles Micallef, Vinny Crean. Dean Pinnington, Noel Kiffin, Richard Bryant, Adrian Bowyer, 
Apologies:– Dave Bates, Matthew Clark 

Review of Last Year
2011-12 has been one of our most successful seasons ever. 
Telepost A are Div 1 champions and also won the inaugural rapidplay tournament. 
Telepost B are Div 2 champions and Telepost C won the Minor Knockout. 
Telepost D are the county’s only D team and blooded several new players. 
Nigel Ferrington (grade 201) joined the exclusive 200 club and became both Shropshire County Individual Champion and Shrewsbury Town Champion.
The secretary presented commemorative whisky glass trophies to winning team members, and player of the tournament trophy to Noel Kiffin (Minor KO). 

Club Night. 
As the Telepost town walls club has now closed, the rifle shooting section has taken over Tuesday evenings. The meeting agreed unanimously to move our club night to Monday evening with effect from Monday 3 rd September 2012. (KT to announce the change, amend website etc). 

ECF Direct Membership 
JW explained the options open to members to meet the new ECF funding requirements. 
Occasional league players (max 3 games per season) must pay game fee £2-00 per game. 
For league team players:- 
Bronze membership £13-00 pa will cover all club matches. 
Silver membership £19-00 pa will also cover tournaments. 
It is possible to upgrade at any time as required. 
Agreed – all members to join direct via ECF website and to notify their membership number to Vinny before league season starts ! VC will in turn distribute full list. 
Captains must ensure that only eligible players play in any match. 
Otherwise club may face fine / default. 

Treasurer’s Report 
John Westhead presented accounts for 2011-12. 
Team success has meant a significant outlay for trophies, leaving a balance of £99-77 in club funds. 
Chess club fees for 2012-13 will be £5-00 per member payable to JW, to cover league fees (£10-00 per team?) and running costs. 
All players must of course join Telepost Club (currently £20-00 pa payable each April). 

A Bath based chess supplier, Regency Chess, has donated two chess clocks to our club in return for a link to our website for three years to July 2015. 

2012-13 Teams 
We will again field four teams in the Shropshire chess league – A and B team in Div 1, C in Div 2, and D team in Div 3. KT to update members list with details. 

Officers / Captains 
Secretary – Keith Tabner 
Treasurer – John Westhead 
A Team Captain – Richard Bryant, (Vice Capt Keith Tabner) 
B Team Captain – Matthew Clark, (Vice Capt Noel Kiffin) 
C Team Captain –John Casewell (Vice Capt Peter Crean) 
D Team Captain – Dean Pinnington (Vice Captain Shane Sweeney) 

Club Championship 
It was agreed that this event should continue in it’s present format – a five round Swiss held during the winter season to be organised by KT. Fees to continue at £2-00 per entry. Phil Zabrocki is our new club champion with Matthew Clark best U140. Agreed that the Steve Jones Trophy be engraved with the winners’ names. 

Shrewsbury Town Championship 

Agreed that it should continue as at present – KT to organise a five round Swiss during summer months. 

Dates for the Diary (to be confirmed) 
Monday 10th September – Pre-Season Friendly Telepost v Shrewsbury at Telepost 7.30pm all welcome to play but will not be graded. 
17 th Sept 2012 – Winter Chess Season Begins 
14 th Oct 2012 Blitz Tournament in Telford (see Shrops Chess website) 

Any Other Business 
VC to order score cards. 
DP to organise stock of chess equipment. 
Keith Tabner Secretary

Scroll to Top