AGM minutes 2015

Minutes of Telepost Chess Club Annual General Meeting 
Held at Telepost Club on Monday 4th August 2015

Keith Tabner (Secretary), John Westhead (Treasurer), Peter Crean, , Shane Sweeney, Charles Micallef, Vinny Crean, Dean Pinnington, Matthew Clark, John Bashall, John Casewell, Quentin Mills, Martin Ayres, Steve Kempsell, Kate Walker. 

Apologies :- Nick Holmes, Nigel Ferrington. 

Review of Last Year 
In the league our three teams each finished in mid-table in their division. 
However in the Team Quickplay our A team ran out worthy champions. 
And in the Minor Knockout, despite being heavily outgraded in both semi-final and final, our B team were crowned cup-winners. The latter match was broadcast live over the internet and PC reported that our founder Bill Clark was able to watch as it happened in France. 
KT presented trophies (engraved whisky glasses) to the winning team members. 

Treasurer’s Report 
JW presented accounts for 2014-15 
Club funds stand at £201-38 prior to the purchase of trophies (£55-60). 
Chess club fees for 2015-16 will remain at £5-00 per member, to cover running costs, plus £2-00 for either club championship or Shrewsbury Town championship if applicable. 
Team captains will again be responsible for collecting subs on behalf of the treasurer.

All players must of course join Telepost Club (currently £20-00 pa payable each April). 
Agreed that in future to save funds, eligible players will be asked whether they wish to receive their trophy. 

2015-16 County League Teams 
Agreed that we will field four teams in the county league this season – one each in Divs 1 and 2, and two in Div 3. The secretary will update the list of members to show teams and captains as discussed and agreed. 

Rapidplay Teams 
MC will again captain our A team in this event. However, unless sufficient players come forward nearer the time, we are unlikely to enter a B team. 

Officers / Captains 
For the 2015-16 season will be:-
Secretary – Keith Tabner 
Treasurer – John Westhead 
A Team Captain – Matthew Clark. 
B Team Captain – Peter Crean 
C Team Captain –Nick Holmes 
D Team Captain – John Casewell 

League AGM Matters Arising 
A one point penalty for any match default will apply this season. 

Before a league match can be re-arranged, the prior approval of the League Controller must be obtained.

If both captains agree, an incremental time control using digital clocks will be allowed (but we must first learn how to use our own digital clocks…).

Club Championship 
It was agreed that this event should continue in it’s present format – a five round Swiss held during the winter season to be organised by KT. Fees to continue at £2-00 per entry.
Congratulations to last year winners –
NF champion 5 / 5, SK and QM U140 winners 3 / 5, and SS U100 winner 3 / 5. 

Shrewsbury Town Championship 

Agreed that it should continue as at present – KT to organise a five round Swiss during summer months. 

Dates for the Diary 
VC – First or second week Sept (provisionally) league season begins 
October – club championship begins. 
2nd Sunday each month at 2.00pm chess in a café (Quirky Café – KW) 

Other Business 
The meeting agreed with JC’s proposal that D team players could if they so wished double up by also playing for Church Stretton in Div 2. This would not bar them from playing up to our C team as cover if needed. 
However C team players will be needed by our own club as cover for our own B team in Div 2. 

The meeting was pleased to note that JC and DP are actively supporting Condover Primary School’s in house chess club. 

PC agreed to organise a review / tidy-up / stocktake of our chess equipment. 

4NCL chess league will be played in Telford this year. To take part contact the organisers – Nat Paul, Chris Lewis. 

Shropshire is not entering county teams this year. 

To enter County Individual Championship contact Nick Rutter. 

Keith Tabner 
Chess Club Secretary 

Scroll to Top